Call for proposals: AAL Programme and Nesta’s Challenge Prize Centre: “2nd Smart Ageing Prize”

Objective and description

The Active and Assistive Living (AALprogramme, in collaboration with Nesta’s Challenge Prize Centre, launched, the 2nd edition of the Smart Ageing Prize.The Smart Ageing Prize is a competition that aims to identify the most promising solutions in Europe using ICT for active ageing and its main theme, this year, is ‘products and services that use innovative digital technologies to support older people to participate fully in social life’. The prize process supports selected applications to develop their business through small financial incentives and mentoring.

This second Smart Ageing Prize is looking for innovative and inspiring products and services using digital technologies that facilitate real-world interactions to engage older people in social and stimulating activities, promoting active and connected ageing.

Evidence from global research suggests that supporting older people to participate fully in social life will help them remain active and healthy for longer into later life. At the same time, reducing social isolation requires meaningful engagements and social experiences. A key value proposition of ICT is its ability to connect people and communities. Digital technologies can, therefore, act as a broker for stimulating social experiences that improve wellbeing. That is why digital innovation to meet older people’s requirements and wishes is at the heart of this challenge prize.

Eligible applicants

The competition is open to individuals, groups and organizations located in the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania,  Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia,  Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom.

Budget and duration

A total budget of 50,000 EUR is available for this prize, offering 3 (three) awards as follows:

  • 35.000 EUR for the first prize
  • 10.000 EUR for the second prize
  • 5.000 EUR for the third prize

Deadline for proposals’ submission

The deadline for submitting applications is 30 March 2018.

Further information


Main Menu